Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Join us for this year’s symposium on Monday 19 March. This annual event is a wonderful opportunity to bring all members of the department together to celebrate and share cutting edge research.

© John Cairns

Speaker programme

8.50-9.10am Registration
9.10-9.20am Welcome from Professor Hugh Watkins, Head of RDM
9.20-10.45am Session One (Chair: Professor Hugh Watkins, RDM)

Professor Andrew Wilkie

Craniosynostosis - pathology and diagnosis in the era of whole genome sequencing


Keynote Lecture: Professor Fiona Powrie, Director of the Kennedy Institute, University of Oxford Gut reactions: Immune pathways in the intestine in health and disease

Dr Katherine Pinnick

The metabolic consequences of fructose in adipose tissue: rogue or innocent bystander?

Break and Poster Session Number One

11.50-1.10pm Session Two (Chair: Associate Professor Catherine Porcher)

Professor Anna Gloyn

Unravelling mechanisms for Diabetes from GWAS: From Bench to Bedside
12.10-12.25pm RDM Graduate Prize Winner: Dr Huw Colin York Biophysical control of the immune response
12.25-12.40pm RDM Graduate Prize Winner: Dr Thomas Riffelmacher

Autophagy is Essential for Neutrophil Differentiation - Guiding an Energy-Metabolic Switch

12.40-12.55pm RDM Graduate Prize Winner: Dr Quentin Ferry

In situ functional dissection of RNA cis-regulatory elements by multiplex CRISPR-Cas9 genome engineering

12.55-1.05pm An update on RDM initiatives

Lunch and Poster Session Number Two

2.20-3.30pm Session Three (Chair: Associate Professor Jan Rehwinkel)
2.20-2.40pm Professor Hugh Watkins Genetic diagnosis in practice
2.40-3pm Dr Danuta Jeziorska Changes in real-time dynamics of the alpha globin transcription during erythropoiesis

Oral presentations selected from submitted abstracts

3-3.15pm Dr Clare Hardman Cutaneous bacterial sensing through ILC2 presentation of endogenous CD1a lipid antigens
3.15-3.30pm Mr Mike Bogetofte Barnkob

Tumour-derived semaphorin inhibit tumour-specific T cells by affecting migration and the immunological synapse

3.30-4pm Break
4-5pm Session Four (Chair: Associate Professor Ellie Tzima
4-4.20pm Professor Graham Ogg

Translational impact of lipid-specific T cells and the skin

4.20-4.40pm Dr Eileen McNeill Regulation of Mycobacterial Infection by Macrophage Gch1 and Tetrahydrobiopterin
4.40-5pm Professor David Roberts The INTERVAL trial: from an RCT to genomics and personalised medicine
5-5.15pm Concluding remarks, presentation of the poster prizes and the RDM Award for Excellent Supervision
5.15-6pm Drinks reception and discussion

 You can download the programme here.

abstracts for poster presentations

The deadline for submitting an abstract for the RDM Symposium has now passed. Any questions should be directed to Ruth McCaffrey ( or (2)34649).

You will be notified if your abstract has been selected two weeks before the symposium. The top two abstracts will be selected for oral presentations at the symposium. There will be a prize for the best student poster and the best postdoc/fellow (non-student) poster.