Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The American Diabetes Association (ADA) has announced this year's National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Award recipients.

Rury Holman

The awards honour academics, health care providers, and educators who have contributed to substantial advances in diabetes care and research.

The diligent work of these passionate professionals is moving us closer to a world free of diabetes. Their contributions to research, prevention, and treatment are creating lasting change and improving the lives of people affected by diabetes. - Charles Henderson, Chief Executive Officer of the American Diabetes Association

Professor Rury R. Holman, Mb.ChB., FRCP (Lond.), FMedSci is the recipient of the 2024 Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement, which recognises significant long-term contributions to the understanding, treatment, or prevention of diabetes.

Professor Holman confirmed that declining beta-cell function, as opposed to insulin resistance, was the main driver for type 2 diabetes.

To facilitate self-care for people with diabetes, he co-invented the earliest automated finger-pricker and automated insulin pen.

He co-led the UK Prospective Diabetes which first demonstrated intensive blood glucose and tight blood pressure management minimise type 2 diabetes-related complications, and subsequently identified the potentially life-long 'legacy' effects of early good glycemic management and metformin therapy.

The award recipients will be recognised at an awards ceremony at the ADA's 84th Scientific Sessions in June.