Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) has awarded Prof Anna Gloyn the 2014 Minkowski Prize in recognition of her research contributing to the advancement of knowledge concerning diabetes.

Logo of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes

As the recipient of this prestigious award, Prof Gloyn delivered the 49th Minkowski lecture at the 50th EASD Annual Meeting in Vienna on Thursday 18th September 2014. The title of her lecture was ‘Unravelling causal mechanisms in diabetes pathogenesis’. Her lecture can be viewed on the ESAD website.

The consistent focus of Anna’s work has been the study of naturally occurring mutations that cause or are associated with increased risk of diabetes. Although a basic scientist, her work is highly translational. Anna’s work describing a novel genetic cause of neonatal diabetes revolutionised how patients with this condition are treated, whilst her recent work on biomarkers for HNF1A-MODY has provided a cost effective way of prioritising patients for genetic testing. Anna has also used human genetics to demonstrate the interplay between pathways involved in cell growth and metabolism. Most recently, she has led on international efforts to elucidate the molecular mechanisms for genetic variants associated with type 2 diabetes risk and influencing metabolic traits.

We want to hear about your news!

Publishing a paper? Just won an award? Get in touch with


Similar stories

Two NHSBT research units launch at RDM

The NIHR has awarded three new Blood and Transplant Research Units (BTRUs) to the University of Oxford, with two of them led by RDM researchers.

Professor David Roberts elected Fellow of Academy of Medical Sciences

David Roberts, Professor of Haematology at the Radcliffe Department of Medicine and Consultant Haematologist, has been elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences

REF 2021 outcomes