Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Henry Dale wording with Wellcome and Royal Society logos.

Many congratulations to Drs Chris Toepfer and Ladislav Valkovic for being awarded the Sir Henry Dale Fellowship. This prestigious scheme provides support for postdoctoral researchers who aim to become independent scientists leading their own groups, and is a partnership between the Royal Society and the Wellcome Trust.

The title of Dr Toepfer's application was 'Understanding the role of myosin super relaxation in cardiac health and disease', and Dr Valkovic's application was entitled 'Novel multi-nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy approaches for the sensitive and robust assessment of human cardiac energetics'. 

Both the researchers now also lead their own research groups, with Dr Valkovic being awarded the University Research Lecturer title last year as well. 

We want to hear about your news!

Publishing a paper? Just won an award? Get in touch with


Similar stories

Changes in blood cell production over the human lifetime may hold clues to patterns of disease

A new paper published this week in Cell Reports reveals that changes in the gene expression of blood stem cells occur across the human lifetime; an important step in the understanding and treatment of blood disorders.

COVID-19 recovery project nominated for HSJ award

The project, involving Oxford University Hospitals, Defence Medical Services (DMS), and the Radcliffe Department of Medicine is in the running for a prestigious honour at the Health Service Journal Awards 2021.

11 RDM researchers awarded Associate Professorships

We are delighted to announce that 11 RDM researchers have been awarded the Associate Professor title, in recognition of their research achievements, contribution to teaching, and contribution to the general work of the Medical Sciences Division.