Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

As always, the RDM Symposium Poster Session was full of fascinating science, new techniques interesting discussion.

Congratulations to the following researchers who won our Poster Prizes:


Student Prize

First Place – Tiong Kit Tan (Gill group, NDCLS) for their work on the ‘Development of recombinant adeno-associated viral vector for passive immunisation against Ebola’.

Joint Second– Alex Hamilton (Rorsman group, OCDEM) for their poster on ‘Acetylcholine stimulates alpha cells via both muscarinic and nicotinic pathways’

Joint Second – Julia Truch (Gibbons group, WIMM-NDCLS) for their work on the ‘Characterisation of genes affected by ATRX mutations’

Tiong Kit Tan Poster Prize

Tiong Kit Tan receiving his award


Non-student Prize

First Place – Dr Kate Lines (Thakker group, OCDEM), for her poster entitled ‘microRNA miR-3156-5p is downregulated in serum of Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia Type 1 patients, and regulates expression of mortality factor4-like protein 2’

Kate Lines Poster Prize
Kate Lines receiving her award

2nd place – Claudia Guida (Ramracheya group, OCDEM), for her poster entitled ‘PYY modulates pancreatic islet secretory function and acts as a DPP-IV substrate to regulate insulin secretion’

3rd place – Yvonne Couch (Buchan group, IMD), for her poster entitled ‘Inflammatory stroke extracellular vesicles induce macrophage activation’

We want to hear about your news!

Publishing a paper? Just won an award? Get in touch with


Similar stories

High blood sugar levels ‘reprogramme’ stem cells

Findings explain higher risk of heart attack in people with diabetes, even after treatment .

PTH infused insulin pump used as an alternative treatment for young patients with ADH1

Queen Mary University of London and OCDEM researchers develop alternative treatment for patients as young as three months.

Early blood-sugar levels in type 2 diabetes crucial for future prognosis

People who get type 2 diabetes need to gain control of their blood-sugar levels — fast. The years immediately after diagnosis are strikingly critical in terms of their future risk for heart attacks and death.