Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
This image belongs to Oxford University Images, and may be purchased from OUI. To use, contact Janet Avison ( who will be happy to quote you a cost for usage.

Scientific Organizing Committee


Anna Gloyn (Oxford, UK)

On behalf of the EASD Islet Study Group & the Beta-Cell Workshop I would like to welcome you to the 3rd Joint meeting of our societies.   The ethos of the meeting is to bring together basic and clinical scientists from all over the world working on all aspects of the beta-cell (and other islet cells) from their birth to their demise.    It is an opportunity to hear from the Rising Stars and outstanding experts in the field and to provide plenty of opportunities for scientific discussion and networking.

Following the scientific extravaganzas in Jerusalem (2015) hosted by Professors Yuval Dor & Ben Glaser and then in Dresden (2017) by Professor Michele Solimena the bar has been set very high for delivering fantastic islet biology coupled with superb cultural and social programmes.

For Islets in Oxford 2019 we have lined up an incredible list of international speakers who I am certain will delight us with a smorgasbord of islet biology accompanied by plenty of opportunities for networking washed down with an opportunity to experience life in an Oxford College, including the full Formal Hall dinning experience.    To ensure that we are culturally norished there will be a visit to Oxford's celebrated Ashmolean Museum.

The local organising team and I look forward to welcoming you to Oxford!

Anna Gloyn

Chair of the Scientific  & Local Organising Committees


Lena Eliasson (MALMO, Sweden)     

Lena Eliasson is appointed Professor in Experimental Diabetes Research at Lund University and she is part of Lund University Diabetes Centre (LUDC). Her research aims to understand cellular mechanisms underlying impaired islet hormone secretion contributing to the pathogenesis of diabetes. The focus is on single cell physiology involving studies of ion-channels, exocytosis and miRNA networks important in the regulation of islet cell secretion.


Lori Sussel (DENVER, USA)  

Dr. Lori Sussel is the Director of Basic and Translational Research at the Barbara Davis Center for Diabetes at the University of Colorado. Dr. Sussel’s research program focuses on pancreatic islet cell development and function, which has contributed to the understanding of the islet dysfunction that occurs during the course of diabetes. Most recently, she has made exciting discoveries in the new field of long non-coding RNAs and their regulation of islet development and function. 


EASD - Islet Study Group

The EASD Islet Study Group is a study group of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) which focuses on research into islet biology in diabetes



The EASD Islet Study Group arose from discussions of participants of the islet meeting held at Coleraine 15-18 September 1991. Since this time, the Group has held meetings annually in close association with the main EASD Congress. Approximately 120 participants attend each meeting, which are of 2-days duration.     The current chair is Dame Professor Francis Ashcroft FRS FMedSci (Oxford,UK).

Details on the study group can be found here


The Beta-Cell workshop was started spontaneously in the 1990's by a number of rising stars in the field including Ole Madsen (then at Novo Nordisk) and Susan Bonner-Weir.  Since the first meeting a recognized person in the field has taken on the task to organize the meetings. In 2013  Susumu Seno hosted the legendary meeting in in Kobe Japan.  In constrast to the EASD-ISG, the BCW is not affiliated to any formal society and the membership has a more North-American flavour. 


The two meetings first came together in 2015 when Yuval Dor and Ben Glaser hosted the first Joint Meeting in Jerusaleum.  The baton was handed at that meeting to Michele Solimena (Dresden) for the 2017 meeting and in Dresden to Anna Gloyn for IsletsinOx2019.

Who will take the batton next and where will the meeting be in 2021?  



Marco Pontecorvi

Dr. Marco Pontecorvi  

BRC Project Manager - OCDEM

0044(0)1865 227441



Skirmante TAMELYTE

McCarthy-Gloyn PA - OCDEM

0044 (0)1865 857298





Meeting 2017 (Germany)