Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Professor Rury Holman and Associate Professor Angelyn Bethel attended the annual American Diabetes Association conference in Boston to present the primary results of TECOS.

TECOS is a phase III multinational trial, conducted in 38 countries across Australasia, Asia, Europe, North America, South America, India and South Africa.

The Trial to Evaluate Cardiovascular Outcomes after Treatment with Sitagliptin (TECOS) investigates whether giving people with type 2 diabetes a drug called sitagliptin alongside their usual diabetes care regime can reduce their risk of heart attacks and strokes.  Co-ordinated by DTU and Duke Clinical Research Institute (DCRI), and sponsored by Merck & Co. Inc, the  trial began in 2008 . The trial involves over 14,700 people with type 2 diabetes aged 50 years or older, who have heart and circulatory disease and whose blood glucose is not being controlled well.  Each participant received either sitagliptin or a placebo (dummy drug) and are followed for three to five years.  More information on the trial can be found on the DTU website

We want to hear about your news!

Publishing a paper? Just won an award? Get in touch with


Similar stories

New Studentship honours Enzo Cerundolo

A new Studentship has been announced in memory of the late MRC HIU Director and MRC WIMM Group Leader.

Doug Higgs awarded the 2023 Genetics Society Medal

The award recognises Professor Higgs' major contribution to our understanding of how mammalian genes are switched on and off, and using haematopoiesis as a model to understand how genes function.

2022 RDM Graduate Prize Winners

This year's winners are Edward Jenkins, Antje Rottner, and Akshay Shah.

KJ Patel appointed new Chief Scientist of CRUK

Alongside his new role at Cancer Research UK, Prof. Patel will continue as the Director of both the MRC Weatherall Institute for Molecular Medicine (MRC WIMM) and the MRC Molecular Haematology Unit (MRC MHU).

Anjali Kusumbe receives the RMS Life Sciences Medal

The Royal Microscopical Society awards celebrate the best in microscopy, recognising those making a special contribution to microscopy, cytometry and imaging.