Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.


The medal is awarded every year to a British endocrinologist in recognition of outstanding studies.  As part of the award, Dr Ray will give the Society Medal Lecture during the Society for Endocrinology BES conference in November.

Professor Ray said: “I was really pleased to be awarded the Society for Endocrinology medal.

(The medal) is both recognition for me, and the fantastic people I have had the pleasure of working with, both here in Oxford, and elsewhere. - Professor David Ray

“It reflects work on glucocorticoid action in inflammation, and energy metabolism over a number of years, and is both recognition for me, and for the fantastic people I have had the pleasure of working with, both here in Oxford, and elsewhere.”

Our congratulations to Professor Ray!

We want to hear about your news!

Publishing a paper? Just won an award? Get in touch with


Similar stories

Spin-out company Alethiomics launches

The enterprise will focus on developing targeted therapies for a specific family of blood cancers.

Iron integral to the development of life on Earth – and the possibility of life on other planets

A collaboration between researchers at the MRC WIMM/RDM and Department of Earth Sciences uncovers the importance of iron for the development of complex life on Earth.

Study reveals ‘stop-eating’ response to DNA damage

A new study from the Patel Group sheds light on the mechanism by which DNA damage suppresses appetite, a finding with implications for understanding the appetite lowering side-effects of chemotherapy.