Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Staff across RDM have been recognised in the Medical Sciences Division’s Teaching Excellence Awards 2017. The Teaching Excellence Awards scheme recognises and rewards excellence in teaching, the organisation and development of teaching, and support for teaching and learning, within a research-intensive environment.

Text about training. © John Cairns

The Laboratory Medicine Course, led by Dr Deborah Hay in the Nuffield Division of Clinical Laboratory Sciences, equips fourth year medical students with the knowledge and understanding of disease processes to enable them to diagnose patients’ disease.

Congratulations to Felicity Bennett, Course Administrator, who has been recognised for her excellence in learning support. The Award reflects her continuous adaptability and willingness to take on new tasks. These include analysis of formative examination results and provision of critically useful insights to the course teaching and assessment committee aiming to update and refresh the course. Felicity has shown exceptional commitment by taking on a workload and responsibility significantly beyond the expectations of her grade and job description after the retirement of a key member of staff.

Dr Deborah Hay has been awarded funds to Pilot assessment of interactive in-lecture question technology in the Laboratory Medicine Course. The award will enable the Laboratory Medicine Course team to make an informed decision about future investment in interactive in-lecture technology. The aim of the project is to evaluate the utility of two technologies for permitting real-time in-lecture interactive questions, Socrative and MeeToo, in terms of benefit to students, range of features and ease of use.

Elsewhere in the department Associate Prof Leanne Hodson and Prof Marella De Bruijn were awarded funds for ‘Confident Personal Impact Training for Women: a pilot study’. This award will enable piloting of a 2-day workshop around the theme of confident personal impact training, for a number female DPhil students who have passed transfer of status. The aim of the project is to help female DPhil students (who are believed to be less confident than male ones) build up confidence in personal impact and develop a skill set to aid successful transition from DPhil student to postdoctoral scientist (and beyond) in order to attempt address the gender disparity gap that seems to be increasing across the academia with seniority.

Congratulations to all the award winners!

Staff and students are warmly invited to join the Head of Division and the Associate Head of Division (Education), to celebrate the contributions of award recipients at the 2017 Teaching Excellence Awards Ceremony: 4.30-6.30 p.m. (ceremony and reception – arrivals from 4.15 p.m.), Tuesday 17th October  2017, TS Eliot Theatre, Merton College, Merton Street, Oxford. If you would like to attend please e-mail by 6th October 2017 (for catering purposes).