About the Radcliffe Department of Medicine

Research buildings that are part of RDM

The Radcliffe Department of Medicine (RDM), led by Prof Hugh Watkins, is a newly formed Department within the Medical Sciences Division. The department was created in 2012 to bring together a number of clinical academic units into a coherent grouping in order to add value to one another and to enhance further the interfaces with basic science programmes, including those in the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, and with the Oxford University Hospitals Trust. RDM will provide a focus around cardiovascular medicine, acute stroke, diabetes, endocrinology & metabolism, haematology, immunology and experimental therapeutics and will be underpinned by excellence in molecular medicine and clinical laboratory science.

With broad research interests and strengths in translating molecular and cellular science across multiple disease areas its remit spans basic research through to clinical application.

RDM is one of the largest Departments in the University, with a staff of around 500 and an annual turnover of £45m. It was formed through the amalgamation of:

The Department operates as a devolved structure, with the above 5 units having their own visible identity, leadership and strategy.  They are supported by a small central administrative unit, RDM Strategic, which is led by Lynn Clee, Head of Administration and Finance for RDM.

Scientific direction for the department is provided by Prof Hugh Watkins, supported by a Management Committee which provides strategic oversight and assists with major operational decisions. The Management Committee members are senior academics from each of the constituent units.

RDM has a strong clinical presence on both the JR and Churchill sites. It teaches part of the clinical student curriculum and has approximately 100 postgraduate research students.