Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Royal Microscopical Society awards celebrate the best in microscopy, recognising those making a special contribution to microscopy, cytometry and imaging.

© A. Kusumbe

Congratulations to Dr Anjali Kusumbe who has been awarded the Royal Microscopical Society Award for Life Sciences.

The Award for Life Sciences is part of the Science Section awards which celebrate outstanding scientific achievements across all areas of microscopy and flow cytometry.

Dr Kusumbe leads the Tissue and Tumor Microenvironments Group at the MRC Human Immunology Unit in the MRC Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine. She uses state-of-the-art imaging methods to understand age-related changes in multiple organs.

The RMS Science Section Chair noted: “Anjali's achievements in applying microscopy to life sciences are outstanding. Through her publications, mentorship and scientific citizenship, she has made an enormous contribution to the scientific community and is thoroughly deserving of the RMS Life Sciences Award.”

Read the full list of winners on the RMS website: RMS Awards

We want to hear about your news!

Publishing a paper? Just won an award? Get in touch with


Similar stories

New Studentship honours Enzo Cerundolo

A new Studentship has been announced in memory of the late MRC HIU Director and MRC WIMM Group Leader.

Doug Higgs awarded the 2023 Genetics Society Medal

The award recognises Professor Higgs' major contribution to our understanding of how mammalian genes are switched on and off, and using haematopoiesis as a model to understand how genes function.

2022 RDM Graduate Prize Winners

This year's winners are Edward Jenkins, Antje Rottner, and Akshay Shah.

KJ Patel appointed new Chief Scientist of CRUK

Alongside his new role at Cancer Research UK, Prof. Patel will continue as the Director of both the MRC Weatherall Institute for Molecular Medicine (MRC WIMM) and the MRC Molecular Haematology Unit (MRC MHU).

Enterprise Associate Interview with Dr Shilpa Nagarajan

Dr Shilpa Nagarajan is one of the MPLS Enterprise and Innovation Fellows for 2022-23.